8 Comments
Oct 21, 2022·edited Oct 21, 2022Liked by Linh Dinh

Most Thais I know don't like the current king but loved King 9, his father. Yeah, he was the wealthiest monarch on the planet but actually did a lot for poor people and was great at PR. Our rulers in the West are only good at PR for the people they rule who already feel a need to like them. They obviously hate the people they rule so anyone who isn't a willful idiot understands that they don't have their subjects well being at heart.

Most thais, I know, hate the protesters who are color revolution tools of the Jews. The Thais might not get those dynamics but they view the monarchy as part of Thai culture and feel that people who don't love it should leave.

The whole mask adherence here is off the charts and Thais claim that they no longer can imagine ever leaving their home without a mask. They say the mask is now part of their body.

My Thai wife feels that in 2 years if there are no more lockdowns you may commonly see people without masks. I have found that the working class is the most likely to go without them and middle class women are the most loyal in wearing them. Like elsewhere the wealthy Thais tend to put on a show but don't see themselves as needing to adhere to the Covid hysteria they mandate for the masses. You could see that in the lockdowns. Thai public and private schools were closed most of two years except for the expensive private schools of the wealthy. They were open almost the entire time.

Expand full comment

It's hard to know what to make of the present state of the Thai monarchy. According to the lurid stories in the media (which should almost never be believed) the new king leaves a bit to be desired.

If, as I suspect, it's a potful of lies garnished with a smidgeon of truth then it's part of the media agenda to incite unthinking plebs to do away with hereditary monarchy around the world. It is after all in the media's interest for the hoi polloi to be ruled by men who've dragged themselves up by their bootstraps than a man who's spent a lifetime assimilating diplomatic lessons from parents on how to rule with a light touch.

In this respect the media is nothing if not self serving. It knows that if politicians are voted into power the media becomes the 'kingmaker' and therefore rules behind the scenes. However if a hereditary monarchy exists, the media's power is not absolute.

Leaving aside the media's vested interest in king making, if we consider the psychological differences that exist between a self made 'master of the universe' and a hereditary monarch, I know I'd prefer the latter - and I'm not a monarchist.

Expand full comment

Just my two dong but Bumiphol had a very murky history from his involvement in his brother's death to his 'accident' in Switzerland not to mention his birth place Cambridge Massachusetts making him a citizen of the US. I think he was MK trained, a sad tragic man despised by his wife and heir.

Expand full comment

Something about these 5 photos that I like best of all so far. Haven't put a finger on it yet. The tryzub one is a marvelous capture of who knows what. I adore the selfie.

Expand full comment

How was I lucky enough to come upon the essays and photos of Linh Dinh? and also the very interesting comments by followers. Now I shall shoe horn myself into another cool morning in southern Australia fortified by another postcard which does not exactly orient me in any particular direction but alerts me that living on earth is both very, very complicated and also desperately simple.

Expand full comment

Beautifully written essay.....and I bought your book. Thanks for putting a link in to make it easy for me to sit in my comfy chair and buy your book with just a minimal amount of clicks! I love your photos so much. First I read the essay and then go back and click on the links. Thanks.

Expand full comment